Thailand Added To UK’s Red List

Heathrow Airport Arrivals

Seven countries have been added to the UK’s green travel list, meaning holidaymakers will be able to return from nations without any coronavirus restrictions.

The popular holiday destination of Azores, an autonomous region of Portugal, has moved from Amber to Green, providing a big boost to people hoping for a late summer getaway.

The other countries added to the green list are:

  • Canada

  • Denmark

  • Finland

  • Liechtenstein

  • Lithuania

  • Switzerland

Fully vaccinated people returning amber and green list countries are not required to isolate on return, but will still need to take pre-departure and day 2 tests, as well as having to complete a passenger locator form.

The changes will come into force from 4am on Monday 30th August.

Canada’s addition to the green list is likely to increase the number of Canadian visitors to the UK – but the North American country continues to ban entry to British nationals.

Montenegro and Thailand have been added to the red list, meaning anyone returning from there must quarantine, whether or not they’ve been double vaccinated.

Montenegro and Thailand are being moved to the red list, the Department for Transport (DfT) said, due to “increased COVID-19 case rates in these countries and the higher risk that travel from these countries poses to UK public health”.

DfT added: “The data for all countries will be kept under review and the government will not hesitate to take action should the data show that countries’ risk ratings have changed.”

Travel lists, which determine the quarantine and testing requirements for people arriving in the UK, are updated every three weeks.

From 4am on Monday 30th August, the Azores, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Liechtenstein, Lithuania and Switzerland will be added to the green list.

These are the other countries already on the green list:

  • Australia

  • Austria

  • Brunei

  • Bulgaria

  • Caribbean Islands (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, British Indian Ocean Territory, Barbados, Dominica, Granada, Cayman Islands, Montserrat, Turks and Caicos Islands)

  • Croatia

  • Falkland Islands

  • Faroe Islands

  • Germany

  • Gibraltar

  • Hong Kong

  • Iceland

  • Israel and Jerusalem

  • Latvia

  • Malta

  • Madeira

  • New Zealand

  • Norway

  • Romania

  • Singapore

  • Slovakia

  • Slovenia

  • South Georgia and South Sandwich Islands

  • St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha

  • Taiwan